Peter Paas

Today I am thankful for the Paas movie…

Okay so it’s actually called “Peter and the Magic Egg” and it’s a sweet movie. Most people have never heard of it. When NAE and I had our first Easter together I told him about it and be didn’t believe that it existed. It’s a movie (and when I say movie I mean under 30 minute cartoon) based on the characters from the Paas Easter egg dying kits. As a child my siblings and I would watch it every year. We had it on tape that my mom recorded off the TV. In fact I think somewhere in my mom’s house she still has the tape. It was such a big part of my childhood. When we moved to Texas I found it on eBay (only on VHS of course) before Easter and bought it so that I would make sure that I was still able to watch it.

Today NAE, OGE, and I dyed Easter eggs, searched for Easter baskets, at ham, and watched the Paas movie in bed. We had to watch it in our room because we have an old ghetto TV with a VCR/DVD combo attached to it. It was a perfect Easter. The only thing that could have made it better is if we’d been with our extended family, but it was still a wonderful day.

I miss home, and by home I mean Michigan, a lot and doing silly things like watching a cartoon from the 80’s makes me feel a little less home sick. So today I have to be thankful for the Paas movie. If you’ve never seen it, I would definitely recommend it. It won’t be as neat for you because you didn’t grow up with it, but it’s still a fun little cartoon for kids. I’m not sure NAE is a convert yet. He still looks at me funny when I tell him I want to watch it. Oh well. I hope to make it a fun part of OGE’s life too!

Leave a comment